Farningham nestles on the old London to Folkestone Road astride the River Darent about 10 miles north of Sevenoaks.
The village is steeped in history and was in existence well before the Doomsday Survey of 1086. A walk around the Village reveals numerous notable buildings and historic sites, such as St Peter and St Paul's Church, Farningham Mill, The Lion Hotel, the site of a Roman villa and Farningham Woods Site of Significant Scientific Interest and Nature Reserve. Charles Dickens would visit the Village for the excellent trout fishing that the Darent provided and Admiral Bligh of the Bounty once lived here. The Village's fascinating and unique history are faithfully recorded 'Farningham and its Mill' which can be purchased from Wadard Books in the High Street.
A big thank you to James Horobin, our drone pilot extraordinaire! Otherwise images are by Chris Bourne, Ollie Butler and Linda Cronin or are freely available on the internet
Sign up for e-mail alerts on the latest local news
Be the first to hear about Farningham news and stories